Knowledge Base/Troubleshooting Joli OS/Using Joli OS and Jolicloud

Jolicloud Restore Utility

Jolicloud Team
posted this on January 17, 2011 18:33

Joli OS 1.1 (and later) comes with a software called Jolicloud Restore Utility. It restores some settings, reclaims some space and makes sure the system is up-to-date.

Note: Jolicloud Restore Utility is able to use an online set of operations instead of using its local script. It allows us to fine tune the operations performed by Jolicloud Restore Utility that's why it's always better to be connected to the Internet when you run Jolicloud Restore Utility.

 

Just press Ctrl + Shift + F10 to launch Jolicloud Restore Utility.

Note: If your system ends up in a terminal with no user interface when it boots, you can try Jolicloud Restore Utility to restore your system. Just type "sudo jolicloud-restore-utility" (without the quotes). It will automatically perform all the operations.

 

2011-01-17_jolicloud-restore-utility-expanded.png

 

You can expand 'Details' to display the list of the available operations. If your system is up-to-date (How do I update Joli OS?), here's the local list of available operations:

  • 'Clear out the local repository of package files' to free some space
  • 'Clear browser cache' to reset the desktop
  • 'Configure pending packages' to finish a package install aborted
  • 'Update package index files' to update the list of available updates (How do I update Joli OS?)
  • 'Force default packages installation' to make sure some important system components are correctly installed
  • 'Upgrade system' to upgrade the system if updates are available (How do I update Joli OS?)
  • 'Auto-remove packages no longer required on the system, like unused dependencies' to free some space
  • 'Clean up the topbar and reset applets location'
  • 'Reload the GNOME panel' to apply the changes made by the previous operation

 

Note: It is recommanded you perform all the operations pre-selected. They are executed in a pre-defined order (eg upgrade packages after updating the list of available updates, or reload the topbar after resetting its applets). It also explains why 'Clear out the local repository of package files' is executed before and after the system upgrade.
 
 
Topic is closed for comments